Die cut sentiment

This new card-making journey for me is all about creativity which I love, but at the same time it kinda brings frustration when the things you imagine don’t come to life as you expected. This card wasn’t at all what I had initially planned. In fact, I had to start from scratch because the first card I made was just full of mistakes or things that didn’t go as expected. 

I wanted to submit some entries on the My favorite things super star design challenge but I just felt too much pressure from all the things your card had to have to be a winner card. None of the cards I thought about were winners (in my mind). So I decided that I would get some experience first and then I would participate. But I ended up with a card anyway. 

So for this card I made a little ink blending with the clarity stencil brushes for the background. I used festive berries and scattered straw. Then I adhered the chunky chevron panel I die cut from some gold sparkle cardstock I bought from MFT. I also made a second piece with the same colors and die cut the sentiment from there. I then adhered the sentiment to a fish tail banner I cut myself and sprayed everything with the shimmer mist that I’m loving right now to dress the card up and add that little extra shimmer it needed to be complete. To embellish it, i added a couple of sequins and I also added some glossy accents to the sentiment.

It sort of feels like a monochromatic card because I stuck to those two colors as the main focus of the card. Apart from the gold. Pretty simple but I like the result. Here are some pictures: 


I sort of caught some of the shimmer on that last one, so you can imagine what it looks like in real life. 

Until next time, 

Karla

Leave a Reply

