Celebrating with Concord & 9th

It’s hard to believe that a company with so many awesome designs as Concord & 9th is only a year old. They have easily become one of my favorite stamp companies because of the super smart products and the awesome people behind it. I recently watched a “Crafty chat”  from Online card classes with Greg and Angie, the founders of Concord & 9th and it was such a great chat that as soon as it was finished, I wanted to go to their website and buy one of everything they had. But I couldn’t do it at the time, so I waited and was able to buy on their flash sale for hitting 9K on Instagram. It was great because I was able to get more stamps and dies. So there’s going to be many projects using C9 stamps and dies in the near future 🙂 

Now for today’s card, I decided to play along with the “Where creativity meets C9” challenge #1: Celebration (http://www.wherecreativitymeetsc9.com). So of course, I made a birthday card. I happen to love the leaves from the “Give thanks” stamp set and I am seriously obsessed with heat embossing everything, so I first started by mixing and smoshing 4 different colors of distress inks for the background. Then I heat embossed the solid leave from the set three times in white and the tips in gold so it would look like gold dipped feathers. 


For the sentiment I used the sophisticated script and uppercase to spell out “Happy birthday” and  since I wanted to use velum for the sentiment, I  cut a piece of velum and tried to heat emboss the whole “Happy birthday” sentiment on it but failed like 3 times. So I ended up heat embossing the two words in two separate pieces of velum and fussy cutting the edges to glue it on to the card front. I then put some Ranger multi medium matte to glue the sentiment and sprayed the whole panel with a shimmer mist for some sparkle. I also added a few clear sequins to embellish it. And that’s pretty much it. I really like how it turned out. Here are some other pictures where I tried to catch the shimmer mist: 

How awesome are the sophisticated script stamp sets? I’ll tell ya, they’re SUPER awesome! 

I am linking this card/post to the C9 #1 challenge. Looking forward to participate in the challenge every month. Happy birthday Concord and 9th! 
Until next time, 

Karla 

2 thoughts on “Celebrating with Concord & 9th

  1. Diane Jaquay says:

    Love the combination of watercolor and gold embossing on your card, so pretty! Thanks for playing along with us at Where Creativity Meets C9!

    Like

Leave a Reply

