First handmade card, day 1 of Heat Wave

As I had shared before, I signed up for an online card class over at www.onlinecardclasses.com to learn about heat embossing. Well, here are two cards for my first day’s homework. On the first one I just did some simple stamping and heat embossed a frame and then a sentiment. I gotta say that it sort of looks easier than it is to make, but then again I don’t have all my supplies yet so I kinda did what I could with what I had. I am looking forward to getting the supplies I have ordered from different sources like Ellen Hutson (www.ellenhutson.com) and Simon Says Stamp (www.simonsaysstamp.com). Being an international customer, I have found that both of these stores are customer friendly and won’t block my orders because of a fraud alert or something. I have also ordered from scrapbook.com and have had no problem with them either. 

Anyway, getting back to how I made these cards, I figured I would use the patterned paper I have but turns out I messed up both first attempts ja! I kept telling myself that it was all about trial and error. Otherwise I would have gone crazy. All in all I was able to make two cards, one using a simple heat embossing technique and the other using heat embossing on velum to apply two of the techniques that Kristina, Jennifer and Yana shared with us on the first day of class. 


I initially wanted to make a background with the patterned paper that I made the banner with, but I also don’t have too many inks and the one ink I used was very similar to the greenish color of the paper so it looked really bad. That’s why I had to start all over and opted to make a different background. The sentiment doesn’t quite look the way I wanted it but it was my first card ever so I just went with it. Here’s the second card: 


I really like the floral paper and the combination with the liquid platinum powder from Ranger. I wanted to add some embellishments to cover the glue I used to stick the velum panel on to the card. I tried some tape but it didn’t look good so I stuck to enamel dots. I think the sentiment really combined with the whole feel of the card though. I might like this one better than the first. 

So there you have it. A little of what I went through using the minimal supplies I have to make two cards. I made a lot of mistakes but learned from it. 

Until next time, 

Charlie 

Leave a Reply

